College programs and courses require state approval. However, the procedures vary according to the program and award. There are three levels of approval:

  1. Local community college approval
  2. Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development (CCWD) approval
  3. Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) approval

Program Approval Categories 

Lower Division Transfer Degrees

CCWD‚Äč Education Specialist

Career and Technical Degrees, Certificates, and Courses

CCWD Education Specialist, HECC

Adverse Impact-Detrimental Duplication (Public College to Private College)

Office of Degree Authorization, HECC

Adverse Impact-Detrimental Duplication (Public College to Public College)

CCWD Education Specialist

Adult Continuing Education Courses

CCWD Education Specialist

Workforce Programs (non-credit)

CCWD Education Specialist

Adult Basic Skills (non-credit)

CCWD Adult Basic Skills Director